Four Things I Learned From Putting My Bass Pedalboard On The Test Bench

The Test

  1. Use SMAART v8 run pink noise out of the reamp outputs of my interface into my bass pedalboard.
  2. Perform a transfer function (a mathematical comparison between a measurement and reference) and look at the impulse response, phase response, and magnitude response.

Measurement Source – Reamp output 1 came out of Zen Tour, into my bass board. Then I used the XLR out of my DI box to feed one of the built in preamps.

Reference Source – Reamp output 2 came out of Zen Tour, then hit Hi Z input 2.

The Gear

Bass Pedalboard

TC Electronics polytune2 – Tuner

sfx Thumpinator – high pass filter at ~35Hz

Diamond Bass Compressor – optical compressor

Radial J48 – Active DI Box

Lava Cable Instrument CAbles

Antelope Audio Zen Tour

The Data

Green – Compressor Bypassed

Red – Compressor In; Tilt EQ Flat

Blue – Compressor In; Tilt EQ @ 250Hz Lo Boost, Hi Cut

Pink – Compressor In; Tilt EQ @250Hz Hi Boost, Lo Cut

Four Things I Learned

#1 – The Diamond Bass Compressor impacts frequency response very little. I definitely hear a tonal shift (that I love) when I engage it, put it’s not due to frequency response. You only lose a few dB of the very top end (which my bass doesn’t produce anway).

#2 – The Diamond Bass Comp inverts polarity. It’s always a good idea to keep an eye on how everything’s relating from a phase response perspective, so I will now invert polarity on my J48 so that my bass comes in at polarity positive first. I think the inversion is due to the power supply adapter being inverted.

#3 – I know the full range of the bass comp’s tilt EQ is +-6dB, takes about two octaves to fully mature, and isn’t Baxandall. Handy to now see what this does, not just hear.

#4 – I know what impact the high pass filter in the sfx Thumpinator has on phase and frequency response. This helps keep the infrasonic energy from hard plucks and slaps from eating up all my headroom. My diamond compressor acts more naturally with the sfx in front of it.

mkc

Published by Michael Curtis

Music.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started